November 28, 2021

Beyond Going Long

Complete UK News World

NASA postponed the return of astronauts from the International Space Station due to strong winds

The scheduled return has been postponed from Sunday to Monday.

NASA has postponed from Sunday to Monday the planned launch of SpaceX’s Crew Dragon Endeavor spacecraft, which will carry four astronauts working on the International Space Station (ISS) back to Earth. The reason is strong winds at the planned landing site.

According to AFP, the spacecraft carrying astronauts Thomas Pesquet of France, Shane Kimbrough and Megan MacArthur of the United States and Akihiko Hoshed of Japan is expected to separate from the International Space Station on Monday at 19.05 GMT (20.05 CET). NASA said on Twitter that the crew of the SpaceX Crew-2 mission will land on Earth at the earliest on Tuesday at 03.33 GMT (04.33 CET).

Pesquet handed command of the International Space Station to his Russian counterpart, Anton Schabler, on Saturday, TASS reported, referring to the Russian space agency (Roscosmos).

Crew-2 astronauts, who have been in space since April 24, are likely to return to Earth although the launch has been postponed before the Crew Dragon Endurance spacecraft joins the International Space Station with the new SpaceX Crew-3 crew of four. The launch of this ship has also been postponed several times, and is currently scheduled for November 11.

See also  Corona Virus: 11 billion doses of the vaccine will be needed to vaccinate 70 percent of the population