January 29, 2022

Beyond Going Long

Complete UK News World

Lionel Messi won the Ballon d’Or for 2021

Yesterday 22:01

Argentine football striker Lionel Messi of Paris Saint-Germain was crowned with the Ballon d’Or in 2021. This is his seventh record by winning in a prestigious poll. In the 65th year of voting, he pushed Polish gunner Robert Lewandowski of Bayern Munich to second place, and Italian midfielder Jorginho of Chelsea FC in third place. ŠPORT.sk also participated in the vote.

22:35 Updated on Messi’s reaction

You can watch the broadcast of the 2021 Ballon d’Or gala online at ŠPORT.sk >>

The 34-year-old also won the poll in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and most recently in 2019. In the summer, he led Argentina to the title in the Copa America South America. In doing so, he won his first major title with the national team and also won the Player of the Tournament award and the Golden Ball of the tournament. In the summer he moved from FC Barcelona to Paris Street. Germain. In 2021, Messi scored a total of 41 goals and 17 assists in 56 matches for clubs and national teams. He also won the Royal Cup with Barcelona.

“It’s unbelievable to be here again. A couple of years ago I thought it was my last win and now I’m standing here again. I’m so happy, excited and want to take on new challenges. I don’t know how long I’ve been away but I hope to thank my teammates from Barcelona And Paris Saint-Germain, especially from the national team.

I felt like I was missing something and it came true this year. A big part of today’s victory is due to what we achieved in the Copa America, so thank you to your teammates, this is your win. My wife, children, father and mother came to support me here. It was an honor to fight Robert. You were the winner last year and I think France Football should have given you the award.” Quoting Messi Evening Standard.

See also  Arteta demands Wenger return to Arsenal. What will he do there? The current coach cannot answer that

Lewandowski, who scored 41 goals in the German league last season, was the favorite to win the French football magazine award 2020, but due to the Corona virus pandemic, the poll was not conducted last year. This time he took second place. Jorginho III won as many as two precious titles during the year – with Chelsea he won the Champions League and was a mainstay in the “Al Zora squad”, which he helped win the European Champion title.

Messi got 613 points in the vote, Lewandowski 580 and Jorginho 460. The French Karim Benzema of Real Madrid got 239 points and his compatriot N’Golo Kante (Chelsea) 186 votes. Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus Torino and Manchester United), Egyptian Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Belgian Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), another Frenchman, Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain) and Italian Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan, Paris Saint-Germain).

The Raymond Kopa award for the best under-21 footballer went to FC Barcelona Pedri, the 19-year-old Spain national footballer and midfielder. For the first time, they received the award for the best striker, which was taken over by the law of Bayern Lewandowski. Gianluigi Donnarumma, who left Milan for Paris Saint-Germain in the summer, was awarded the Lev Jasin Award for Best Goalkeeper. The 22-year-old Italian was the hero of the Euro 2020 final, when he netted his country’s victory on penalties and was declared the player of the tournament as the first goalkeeper.

Among the women, the Spanish Alexia Putillas won the Ballon d’Or, and as captain of FC Barcelona led FC Barcelona to victory in the Champions League. In the vote for the best club of the year, Chelsea of ​​London won, and in addition to winning the Champions League, they are currently leading the Premier League.

See also  NHL results today (Thursday)

Ballon d’Or 2021:

1. Lionel Messi (Argentina / Barcelona, ​​PSG)

2 – Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich)

3 – Jorginho (Tall / Chelsea)

4. Karim Benzema (Fr./Real Madrid)

5. N’Golo Kante (France / Chelsea)

6- Cristiano Ronaldo (Tal./Juventus Turín, Manchester United)

7. Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool)

8 – Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City)

9. Kylian Mbappe (fr / PSG)

10 – Gianluigi Donnarumma (Tal / AC Milan, PSG)

Women’s Golden Ball:

1. Alexia Putellasová (Šp. / FC Barcelona)

2. Jennifer Hermos (FC Barcelona)

3. Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea)

Lev Jasina Award (goalkeepers): Gianluigi Donnarumma (Tal / AC Milan, PSG)

Best striker: Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich)

Raymond Kubo Prize (players under 21): Pedri (Šp. / Barcelona)

Best club: Chelsea (Ang.)

Poll winners since 2010:

2010: Lionel Messi (Argentina)

2011: Messi

2012: Messi

2013: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal).

2014: Ronaldo

2015: Messi

2016: Ronaldo

2017: Ronaldo

2018: Luka Modric (HRV).

2019: Messi

2020: Poll not voted on the coronavirus pandemic

2021: Messi